الرئيسية / الأخبار / الأمير الوليد يحضر افتتاح مقر جلسة الصناديق السيادية في باريس شركة المملكة المشاركة الوحيدة من غير الصناديق السيادية

الأمير الوليد يحضر افتتاح مقر جلسة الصناديق السيادية في باريس شركة المملكة المشاركة الوحيدة من غير الصناديق السيادية

October 26, 2014

 

دعا فخامة الرئيس الفرنسي فرانسوا أولاند صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير الوليد بن طلال بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود، رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة المملكة القابضة، على مأدبة عشاء أقامها فخامته في قصر الإليزيه الرئاسي بمناسبة افتتاح مقر جلسة نقاش المستثمرين المؤسسين للصناديق السيادية. بالإضافة إلى رؤساء الصناديق السيادية الأكبر في العالم. وقد حضر العشاء وزير الاقتصاد الفرنسي الأستاذ إيمانويل ماكرون.

 

هذا وقد حضر الأمير الوليد حفل افتتاح مقر جلسة نقاش المستثمرين المؤسسين IIR للصناديق السيادية في العاصمة الفرنسية باريس. وكان سموه على رأس الحضور ممثلاً شركة المملكة القابضة في الاجتماع والذي يعتبر التمثيل الوحيد الذي لا يمثل دولة أو حكومة أو صندوق سيادي عالمي.

 

 وكان ضمن الحضور ممثلين أكبر الصناديق السيادية في العالم الذي تضمن كل من: الأستاذ خلدون المبارك، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة مبادلة للتنمية والاستاذ خليل الفولاذي، مستشار سمو الشيخ حامد بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس جهاز أبوظبي للاستثمار وروبرت تيزير، الرئيس التنفيذي لصندوق كيوبيك الكندي للتنمية CDPQ وليو دي بيفر، الرئيس التنفيذي لصندوق ألبيرتا الكندي للاستثمار ودامين فراولي، الرئيس التنفيذي لصندوق كوينزلاند الاسترالي وتان شونج لي، الرئيس التنفيذي لصندوق تيماسك السنغافوري وهونج شول أهن، رئيس صندوق كوريا الاستثماري. 

 

وقد دار النقاش حول سبل تعزيز الشراكات الاستراتيجية بين فرنسا والدول المشاركة في الاجتماع عبر مجموعة واسعة من القطاعات والأصول، مع التركيز القوي على فرص تعزيز التعاون الاقتصادي.

 

هذا وتبادل فخامة الرئيس والأمير الوليد العلاقات السياسية والاقتصادية والثقافية بين المملكة العربية السعودية وفرنسا، وخصوصاً استثمارات شركة المملكة القابضة والتي تعد الأكبر سعودياً في فرنسا من خلال ملكية وإدارة فندق جورج الخامس George V فورسيزونز وإدارة فندق لو رويال مونسيو  Le Royal Monceau (رافلز Raffles)، وملكية في يورو ديزني Euro Disney باريس الذي أنقذته شركة المملكة من الإفلاس، وفي القطاع البنكي من خلال تواجد سيتي جروب Citigroup، وأيضاً نشاطات الأمير الوليد الإنسانية والثقافية حيث موّل سموه من خلال مؤسسة الوليد بن طلال الخيرية إنشاء مركز الفنون الإسلامية بمتحف اللوفر بتبرع قدره 20 مليون دولار في عام 2005م. وأيضاً تناولا في اجتماعهما آخر المستجدات في ظل التطورات على الساحة العالمية.

 

وكان في معيّة سموه كلٌ من الأستاذ سرمد ذوق، عضو مجلس إدارة شركة المملكة القابضة والعضو التنفيذي للاستثمارات الفندقية والأستاذة حسناء التركي، رئيسة قسم إدارة السفريات والتنسيق الخارجي، والسيد كاسي جرين، مستشار سمو رئيس مجلس الإدارة.

 

مؤخراً، التقى الأمير الوليد بالسيد توم والبر رئيس شركة يورو ديزني. وخلال اللقاء تناول الطرفان عدد من المواضيع منها استثمار شركة المملكة القابضة والتي تمتلك 10% من يورو ديزني في باريس.

 

في أغسطس 2014م، عقد الرئيس الفرنسي والأمير الوليد اجتماعاً في قصر الإليزيه الرئاسي في باريس. وفي يونيه 2014م، وقعت شركة المملكة القابضة مع Caisse des Dépôts International Capital – CDC International Capital – CDCIC مذكرة تفاهم لإنشاء أداة استثمارية تدار بشكل مشترك من قبل CDCIC وشركة المملكة القابضة لتطوير مشاريع سعودية بمشاركة الشركات الفرنسية والتكنولوجية والاستفادة من خبراتها.

 

وفي 2012م، قام كل من الرئيس الفرنسي والأمير الوليد بافتتاح مركز الفنون الإسلامية بمتحف اللوفر في باريس والذي موّله سموه وذلك بحضور الأستاذ هينري لويريت، مدير متحف اللوفر ومعالي الأستاذة أوريلي فيليبيتي، وزيرة الثقافة والاتصالات الفرنسية، وعدد من رؤساء الدول والمسؤولين. 

 

وفي 2011م، واستجابة لدعوة فخامة الرئيس الفرنسي السابق نيكولا ساركوزي، شارك سمو الأمير الوليد، في منتدى الثمانية الإلكتروني e-G8، والتي أقيمت ليلة انعقاد قمة الثمانية في فرنسا.

 

وفي 2006م، مُنِح الأمير الوليد وسام الشرف الفرنسي برتبة قائد “Legion of Honor” في حفل رسمي رفيع بقصر الإليزيه Élysée Palace بالعاصمة الفرنسية باريس. وقد قلّد فخامة الرئيس الفرنسي الأسبق جاك شيراك سمو الأمير بالوسام الذي يعد أعلى وسام يمنح من دولة فرنسا تقديراً لمساهماته في توثيق العلاقات السعودية-الفرنسية في الاقتصاد وإدارة الأعمال والثقافة. وفي عام 2007م، مُنِح سموه وسام الراعي الرئيسي للفنون من معالي وزيرة الثقافة والاتصال الفرنسية.

 

كما صُنِّفَ فندق فورسيزونز جورج الخامس George V ” أفضل فندق مدينة في العالم” و “أفضل فندق مدينة في أوروبا” لـ11 عام على التوالي بحسب تصنيف مجلة “دليل جاليفانتير Gallivanter’s Guide”. وكان سمو الأمير الوليد قد اشترى هذا العقار الباريسي المميز في عام 1996م بمبلغ 178 مليون دولار ليعيد ترميمه بالكامل مما استدعى إغلاق الفندق لمدة سنتين منذ 1997م ليعاد افتتاحه بحلته الجديدة في 1999م. وبلغت تكلفة ترميم الفندق 125 مليون دولار، لتصل بذلك التكلفة الإجمالية للمشروع إلى 303 مليون دولار مما يعكس مدى العناية التي أولاها سمو الأمير الوليد لإعادة الرونق لهذه التحفة الباريسية.

Home / News / Prince Alwaleed Attends Inauguration of Sovereign Funds HQ in Paris KHC Only Company Among SWFs

Prince Alwaleed Attends Inauguration of Sovereign Funds HQ in Paris KHC Only Company Among SWFs

October 26, 2014

Pursuant to an invitation from HE French President François Hollande, HRH Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Bin Abdulaziz Alsaud, Chairman of Kingdom Holding Company (KHC) attended a dinner at the French presidential palace, The Elysee on the occasion of the inauguration of the Institutional Investor Roundtable (IIR) headquarters with an official invitation from HE French President François Hollande. The dinner was also attended by SWF CEOs and the French Minister of Economy Mr. Emmanuel Macron.  


Earlier, Prince Alwaleed had attended the inauguration of the Institutional Investor Roundtable (IIR) headquarters in Paris attended by sovereign wealth fund CEOs. Moreover, KHC that was represented by Prince Alwaleed was the only company that was not a sovereign wealth fund. 


Among the attendees were the world’s largest sovereign funds CEO’s: Mr. Khaldoon Almubarak, CEO of Mubadala Develop Company, Mr. Khalil Alfoulathi, Member of the board of ADIA and Advisor to HH Shiekh Hamed Bin Zayed The Director, Mr. Robert Tessier, President of CDPQ, Mr. Damien Frawley, CEO of QIC, Mr. Tan Chong Lee, Head portfolio of Temasek (Singapour), Mr. Hank Ahn Chairman and CEO of KIC and Mr. Leo de Bever, CEO of AIMCO.


The attendees discussed potential investments across a broad range of sectors and asset classes, with a strong focus on opportunities and promoting economic co-operation between France and other countries. In addition, the discussions focused on ways to contribute to the growth and prosperity of economies.


In addition, during the meeting President Hollande and Prince Alwaleed discussed political, economic and cultural matters. They also discussed the bi-lateral relations between Saudi Arabia and France, especially KHC’s investments in France that are considered to be the largest Saudi Arabian presence in France through the ownership and management of the iconic landmark The Four Seasons Hotel George V, the management of Le Royal Monceau Hotel (Raffles), Euro Disney, Paris that was saved from bankruptcy by KHC and Walt Disney and through the presence of Citigroup. Also, Prince Alwaleed’s cultural contributions through Alwaleed Bin Talal Foundation that have donated US$20 million in 2005 to establish the center of Islamic Art at the Musée du Louvre.


Prince Alwaleed’s accompanying delegation included Mr. Sarmad Zok, KHC Board Member and Executive Director of Hotel Investments, Ms. Hassna Alturki, Department Head, Travel & External Affairs and Mr. Kacy Grine, Advisor to HRH the Chairman.


Recently, Prince Alwaleed met Mr. Tom Wolber, President of Euro Disney S.A.S, Paris. The two discussed a number of issues that included KHC’s investment in Euro Disney in which it holds a 10 % stake.


In August 2014, President Hollande and Prince Alwaleed held a meeting at the French presidential Palace, The Elysee.


In June 2014, KHC and Caisse des Dépôts International Capital (CDC International Capital – CDCIC) have signed a Memorandum Of Understanding (MOU) to establish an investment vehicle jointly managed by CDCIC and KHC seeking to develop Saudi projects and ventures that shall benefit from the involvement of French companies, technologies and know how.


In 2012, HE President Hollande and Prince Alwaleed inaugurated the new center of Islamic Art at the Musée du Louvre in Paris in the presence of Mr. Henrie Loyrette, Director of the Louvre Museum and Ms. Aurélie Filippetti, Minister of Culture and Communications during a ceremony in 2012. 


In response to an invitation from the former President Nicolas Sarkozy of France who presided the G8 Summit for 2011, Prince Alwaleed attended the e-G8 forum that was held the eve of the G8 Summit.


The Four Seasons Hotel George V was ranked in Gallivanter’s Guide “Best City Hotel Worldwide” and “Best European City Hotel” for 11 years. Prince Alwaleed acquired the George V in 1996 for $178 million. A two-year $125 million comprehensive renovation was started in 1997. The total cost of acquiring the hotel and renovation amounted to $303 million, reflecting the Prince’s dedication to restore the glory of this landmark.


In 2006, Prince Alwaleed was bestowed the medal of “Legion of Honor,” with the rank of Commander by the former French President, Jacques Chirac during an official ceremony held at the Élysée Palace. The medal is the country’s highest civilian honor, and it was bestowed to the Prince in recognition of his role in strengthening Saudi-French cultural, business and economic relations. In 2007, HRH was awarded the “Golden” medal by the French Minister of Culture and Communication.