الرئيسية / الصحافة والإعلام / أخبار المستثمر / جتماع خاص بين الأمير الوليد وبيل جيتس

جتماع خاص بين الأمير الوليد وبيل جيتس

October 13, 2012

التقى صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير الوليد بن طلال بن عبد العزيز آل سعود، رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة المملكة القابضة، السيد بيل جيتس المؤسس المشارك ورئيس مجلس إدارة شركة مايكروسوفت Microsoft والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة كاسكيد للاستثمارات Cascade Investments والرئيس المشارك لمؤسسة بيل ومليندا غيتس Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation في اجتماع خاص خلال رحلة سموه لأبوظبي. وحضر جزء من الاجتماع كل من الأستاذ جمال خاشقجي المدير العام لقناة العرب الإخبارية الذي يملكها سمو الأمير الوليد والأستاذة هبه فطاني المديرة التنفيذية الأولى لإدارة العلاقات والإعلام والدكتورة نهله ناصر العنبر المساعدة التنفيذية الخاصة لسمو رئيس مجلس الإدارة والأستاذة حسناء التركي رئيسة إدارة السفريات والتنسيق الخارجي والاستاذ حسام السليمان المساعد التنفيذي لسمو رئيس مجلس الإدارة.

 

وخلال الاجتماع تناول الطرفان عدة مواضيع عامة، بالإضافة إلى استثمارات شركة المملكة القابضة العالمية والتي تتضمن حصة شركة المملكة بنسبة %47.5 في إدارة شركة فورسيزونز Four Seasons مشاركةً مع شركة كاسكاد Cascade التي تملك %47.5 أيضاً من شركة فورسيزونز Four Seasons بالإضافة إلى السيد ازادور شارب رئيس مجلس الإدارة لفنادق ومنتجعات فورسيزنز الذي يملك %5 منها. كما تطرقا إلى أخر التطورات في كل من شركة المملكة القابضة وشركة مايكروسوفت. كما تناولا سبل التعاون بين مؤسسة الوليد بن طلال الخيرية ومؤسسة بيل ومليندا غيتس Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

 

هذا وحضر الأمير الوليد  والسيد بيل جيتس افتتاح قمة أبو ظبي للإعلام الثالث المقام في إمارة أبوظبي يوم الثلاثاء 23 ذو القعدة 1433هـ الموافق 9 اكتوبر 2012م تحت رعاية سمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان ولي عهد إمارة أبو ظبي. وحيث أقيم حفل افتتاح قمة أبو ظبي في فندق ياس وستستغرق القمة ثلاثة أيام. وحضر نيابة عن سمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان سمو الشيخ عبد الله بن زايد آل نهيان، وزير خارجية دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وخلال القمة قدم سعادة الأستاذ خلدون المبارك، عضو المجلس التنفيذي لإمارة أبوظبي وجهاز الشؤون التنفيذية في الإمارة والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة مبادلة للتنمية السيد السيد بيل جيتس الذي ألقى كلمة الافتتاح خلال القمة.

 

وفي يناير 2012م، استقبل الأمير الوليد السيد بيل جيتس في منتجع المملكة. هذا وحضر الاجتماع كل من سمو الأميرة أميره الطويل، نائبة الرئيس والأمين العام لمؤسسة الوليد بن طلال الخيرية، التي يرأسها الأمير الوليد والأستاذ شادي صنبر المدير المالي لشركة المملكة القابضة والأستاذة أماني القحطاني المديرة التنفيذية المساعدة لقصور سمو الأمير الوليد بن طلال.

 

وقد شارك الأمير الوليد في قمّة مايكروسوفت Microsoft السنوية للرؤساء التنفيذيين الأكثر تأثيرا في العالم، والتي عقدت في مركز المؤتمرات في ريدموند بمدينة سياتل بولاية واشنطن الأمريكية. وجاءت المشاركة  في القمة إستجابة لدعوة رئيس شركة مايكروسوفت بيل جيتس، والتي يدعى لها سنويا بشكل حصري 100 رئيس تنفيذي من حول العالم. وقد رافق الأمير الوليد حرمه سمو الأميرة أميره الطويل، إضافة إلى وفد من شركة المملكة القابضة ومؤسسة الوليد بن طلال الخيرية.

 

كما التقى الأمير الوليد، على هامش القمة، وارن بافيت الرئيس التنفيذي ورئيس مجلس إدارة شركة بيركشاير هاثاواي Berkshire Hathaway. وناقش الطرفان عددا من الموضوعات التي تنوعت ما بين العام، والمتعلقة بالشأن الاستثماري، وخصوصا استثمارات سموه المتواجدة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من خلال شركة المملكة القابضة، من خلال مجموعة سيتي Citigroup حيث يعد سموه أكبر مستثمر فردي فيها. وفي القطاع الإعلامي من خلال شركة نيوزكورب News Corporation، وفي القطاع الفندقي من خلال إدارة فنادق ومنتجعات فورسيزونز Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts، وفيرمونت بلازا نيويورك Fairmont The Plaza Hotel، إضافة إلى عدد من الفنادق الفاخرة في بعض الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وفي القطاع الترفيهي من خلال تايم وارنر Time Warner، ووالت ديزني Walt Disney.

 

وقد تأسست قمّة مايكروسوفت Microsoft عام 1997م إستجابة للإهتمام المتزايد للرؤساء التنفيذيين في عالم الأعمال بتقريب ودمج التكنولوجيا في قطاع الأعمال، حيث توفر القمة فرصة ثمينة لهم للإستماع لآراء خبراء وقياديين وبحث مستجدات والتطورات الإقتصادية والتكنولوجية. وتمتاز القمّة بكونها خاصة، موفرة للحضور المجال لمناقشة الرؤى المستقبلية وتحديات العمل مع نظرائهم من حول العالم بكل شفافية. وقد شارك في المؤتمر كبار رجال الأعمال، ورؤساء الشركات العالمية والأمريكية.

Home / Press & Media / Investor News / Prince Alwaleed Holds Private Meeting with Bill Gates

Prince Alwaleed Holds Private Meeting with Bill Gates

October 13, 2012

HRH Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Bin Abdulaziz Alsaud, Chairman of Kingdom Holding Company (KHC) hold private meeting with Mr. Bill Gates, Co-Founder and Chairman of Microsoft and CEO, Cascade Investment, L.L.C and Co-Chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation during His Highness visit to Abu Dhabi. Part of the meeting was attended by Mr.  Jamal Khashoggi, General Manager of Alarab news channel that is personally owned by HRH, Ms. Heba Fatani, Senior Executive Manager, Corporate Communications Department, Dr. Nahla Nasser Alanbar, Private Executive Assistant to HRH the Chairman Ms. Hassna F. Alturki, Department Head, Travel & External Affairs and Mr. Husam A. AlSuliman, Executive Assistant to HRH the Chairman.

 

During the meeting the two discussed the latest economic developments. Moreover, Prince Alwaleed and Mr. Gates discussed topics related to KHC’s international investments including its stake of 47.5% in the Four Seasons which is co-owned by Bill Gates’ Cascade with a 47.5% stake, which the remaining 5% is owned by Mr. Isadore Sharp, Chairman of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts. Also, the two discussed potential collaboration between Alwaleed Foundation and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

 

Furthermore, Prince Alwaleed and Mr. Gates attended the inauguration of the 3rd Abu Dhabi Media Summit on Tuesday October 9th 2012. The 3-day Summit was held at the Yas Hotel under the patronage of the Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi, HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, attended and represented by HH Sheikh Abdullah Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, UAE Minister of Foreign Affairs. An opening speech was also presented by H.E. Mr.  Khaldoon Al Mubarak, Member of the Executive Council for the Emirate of Abu Dhabi and Chairman of Executive Affairs Authority, CEO of the Mubadala Development Company. During the event, a keynote speech was given by Mr. Gates.

 

In January 2012, Prince Alwaleed received Mr. Gates, at Kingdom Resort. The meeting was attended by HH Princess Ameerah Al-Taweel, Vice Chairwoman of Alwaleed Bin Talal Foundation chaired by Prince Alwaleed, Mr. Shadi Sanbar, KHC’s CFO and Ms. Amani Algahtani, Assistant Executive Manager- HRH’s Palaces.

 

Prince Alwaleed has attended the annual Microsoft CEO Summit held at the Microsoft Conference Center in Redmond Campus in Seattle, Washington. The Prince’s visit was in response to an invitation from Mr. Bill Gates to attend the event. The Prince was accompanied by his spouse Princess Ameerah Al-Taweel and a delegation from KHC, and the Foundation. The Summit was exclusive to 100 CEOs most influential in the world.

 

During the function, Prince Alwaleed met with some of the most prominent CEOs that included Mr. Warren Buffett, Berkshire Hathaway Chairman and CEO. There was an opportunity to discuss general issues, topics related to investments and HRH’s international investments especially in the United States. HRH has significant investments in the US through KHC in the banking sector through Citigroup where he is the largest individual shareholder, in the media sector through News Corporation, and hotels sector through the management of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts, Fairmont and The Plaza Hotel, New York. In addition to prestigious hotels in various US states. Moreover, investments in the entertainment sector through Time Warner and Walt Disney, and many other investments in the US.

 

The Microsoft CEO Summit was established in 1997 in response to growing interest in the convergence of technology and business issues among corporate CEOs. Attendees had an opportunity to hear leading industry experts analyze economic trends and technology issues. The event was private, provided a forum in which CEOs from major companies and prominent business people discussed business challenges and shared insights and experiences with their peers from around the world.