الرئيسية / الصحافة والإعلام / أخبار المستثمر / الأمير الوليد يستقبل نائب رئيس جمهورية غانا ويقيم مأدبة عشاء على شرف ضيفه

الأمير الوليد يستقبل نائب رئيس جمهورية غانا ويقيم مأدبة عشاء على شرف ضيفه

December 7, 2010

استقبل صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير الوليد بن طلال بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة المملكة القابضة في مكتب سموه بالرياض يوم الأحد 5 ديسمبر 2010م الموافق 29 ذو الحجة 1431هـ، معالي السيد جون دراماني ماهاما نائب رئيس جمهورية غانا. ورافق معاليه وفد تضمن معالي السيد الحاجي بابا كامارا ومعالي السيد أسومه باندا رجل أعمال في جمهورية غانا ومعالي البروفيسور هارونا ياكوبي نائب الرئيس الفخري في جامعة الدراسة التطويرية University of Development Studies (UDS) وسعادة سفير خادم الحرمين الشريفين لدى جمهورية غانا السيد سامر محمود عقاب سعادة السيد الحاجي عبدالله ساليفو سفير جمهورية غانا لدى المملكة العربية السعودية والسيد إيدوين أدجي نائب رئيس البعثة لدى سفارة غانا.

وقد حضر اللقاء من جانب شركة المملكة القابضة كل من المهندس أحمد حلواني العضو التنفيذي للإستثمارات المباشرة والأستاذة هبه فطاني المديرة التنفيذية لإدارة العلاقات والإعلام والدكتورة نهلة العنبر المساعدة التنفيذية الخاصة لسمو رئيس مجلس الإدارة والأستاذ فهد العوفي المساعد التنفيذي لسمو رئيس مجلس الإدارة. كما حضر من شركة المملكة للإستثمارات الفندقية Kingdom Hotel Investments (KHI) كل من الأستاذ سامر عصام أبو عياش النائب الأول للرئيس في قسم المشاريع الإنشائية والأستاذ كلوفيس أبي نادر مدير المشاريع.

وفي بداية اللقاء، رحب سمو الأمير الوليد بضيفه، وبدورة شكر معاليه سموه لإتاحته الفرصه للقاء بسموه. هذا ونقل معاليه تحيات وتقدير فخامة رئيس غانا البروفيسور جون إيفانز اتا ميلز للأمير الوليد. وخلال اللقاء تبادل الطرفان الأحاديث الودية وعدد من المواضيع التى تهم البلدين على الصعيد الاقتصادي والإستثماري. هذا ودعى معاليه سمو الأمير لزيارة البلاد مره أخرى والإطلاع على مشاريع استثمارية جديدة. وخلال الاجتماع أضاف المهندس أحمد حلواني نبذة عن شركة المملكة زفير Kingdom Zephyr والتي تهدف بشكل أساسي إلى التركيز على الفرص المتاحة في المنطقة والشركات العاملة في أفريقيا. وتقوم شركة المملكة زفير Kingdom Zephyr بإدارة إستثمارات صندوق PAIP I وصندوق PAIP II من خلال مكاتب في مدينة أكرا بغانا.

وتبع الإجتماع مأدبة عشاء أقامها الأمير الوليد في منتجع المملكة بالرياض على شرف ضيفه والوفد المرافق. وقبل مغادرة منتجع سموه الخاص، شكر نائب رئيس غانا الأمير الوليد على حسن الإستقبال والضيافة متمنياً له المزيد من التوفيق والنجاح.

ولسمو الأمير تواجد استثماري عن طريق شركة المملكة القابضة في جمهورية غانا من خلال فندق موفنبيك أمباسادور في أكرا Mövenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra الذي تحت الإنشاء حالياً ومن خلال مجموعة سيتي Citigroup في القطاع المصرفي.
هذا وزار الأمير الوليد جهمورية غانا في عام 2006م، وخلال الزيارة قام كل من فخامة الرئيس وسمو الأمير بوضع حجر أساس فندق الأمباسادور موفينبيك Movenpick Ambassador Hotel في العاصمة أكرا، وقد سموه عقد صفقة الفندق العريق خلال زيارته لغانا عام 2005م، هذا وتم استثمار أكثر من 100 مليون دولار لإعادة ترميم الفندق وتطوير مرافقه ليصبح فندقاً راقياً ويقدم خدمات متميزة منها أسواق، ومكاتب وشقق سكنية. وفي نفس العام قلّد فخامة الرئيس سموه أعلى وسام وطني “كمبانيون برتبة قائد الفولكا” خلال احتفال رسمي حضره عدد من الشخصيات. وفي عام 2005م، قام الرئيس والأمير بإفتتاح مدرسة “الأمير الوليد بن طلال” ومركز “الوليد بن طلال الصحي النموذجي” التي تم إنشائهما في أكرا. وفي عام 2004م، منحت جامعة الدراسات التطويرية من مدينة تامالي في غانا شهادة الدكتوراه الفخرية للأمير الوليد تقديرا لإنجازاته المتميزة في الإدارة، ولنظرته الثاقبة التي جعلت منه مستثمر عالمي، ولخبراته ومهاراته الأكاديمية والإدارية والتجارية، ولدوره الإنساني ودعمه للفقراء والمحتاجين في جميع أنحاء العالم. وفي عام 2003م، مُنح سموه ميدالية المواطنة الفخرية لمملكة الأشانتي، من قبل ملك قبيلة الأشانتي أوتومفو أوساي دوتو الثاني تكريماً لزيارته لمملكتهم ودعمه للبلاد.

وفي عام 2007م، قدم سموه تبرعاً بمبلغ 250 ألف دولار أمريكي لصندوق إغاثة الكوارث الطبيعية Natural Disaster Releif Fund وذلك لتوفير المساعدات اللازمة بعد تأثير الفيضانات في تلك العام. وفي عام 2003م، قدم الأمير الوليد تبرعاً بمبلغ 300 ألف دولار أمريكي دعماً للبرامج التعليمية للأطفال والتي ترعاها الدولة، و100 ألف دولار لدعم التعليم التأهيلي للأطفال (مركز الطفل المبكر)، و600 ألف دولار لمعهد نوجوشي ميموريال Noguchi Memorial Institute وذلك لدعم أبحاث مكافحة مرض الإيدز والملاريا وسوء التغذية ليصل بذلك مجموع تبرعات سموه إلى مليون دولار. وفي عام 2003م أيضاً تكفل سموه بتكاليف حج 150 حاج من مواطني جمهورية غانا بتكلفة إجمالية تزيد عن المليون ريال سعودي. وجاءت بادرة سموه الكريمة تلبية لطلب من حكومة غانا للمساعدة في تحقيق أمنية عدد من المواطنين الغانيين بأداء فريضة الحج.

Home / Press & Media / Investor News / Prince Alwaleed Receives Vice President of the Republic of Ghana & Hosted Dinner in Honor of His Guest

Prince Alwaleed Receives Vice President of the Republic of Ghana & Hosted Dinner in Honor of His Guest

December 7, 2010

HRH Prince Alwaleed bin Talal bin Abdulaziz Alsaud, Chairman of Kingdom Holding Company (KHC), received at his office in Riyadh on Sunday 5th December 2010 the Ghanaian Vice President HE Mr. John Mahama who was accompanied by a delegation that included HE Mr. Alhaji Baba Kamara, Hon. Asuma Banda, Businessman, Prof. Haruna Yakubu, Vice Chancellor University of Development Studies (UDS), HE Mr. Samir Mahmoud Aggab Saudi Ambassor to Ghana, HE Alhaji Abdullah Salifu, the Ghanaian Ambassador to Saudi Arabia and Mr. Edwin Adjei, Minister Deputy Head of Mission.

The meeting was also attended by a KHC delegation that included Eng. Ahmed Halawani, Executive Director of Private Equity, Ms. Heba Fatani, Executive Manager, Corporate Communications Dept. and Dr. Nahla Alanbar Private Executive Assistant to HRH the Chairman and Mr. Fahad Alofy Executive Assistant to HRH the Chairman. The meeting was also attended by members from Kingdom Hotel Investments (KHI) that included Mr. Samer Abu Ayash, Senior Vice President, Design and Construction and Mr. Clovis Abi Nader, Project Manager, Owner Representative.

The meeting began as HRH greeted the Ghanaian Vice President and in return the Vice President thanked Prince Alwaleed for giving him the opportunity to meet with him and relayed cordial regards from the President HE Prof. John Atta Mills of Ghana. The two also discussed a number of economic issues related to their respective countries. Furthermore, the Vice President extended an invitation to HRH to re-visit Ghana and explore further investment opportunities there. Moreover during the meeting, Eng. Halawani gave a brief about Kingdom Zephyr Africa Management Company (“Kingdom Zephyr” or KZAM) as it is one of the leading pan-African private equity firms. Kingdom Zephyr manages the investments of PAIP II and PAIP I from offices in Accra, Ghana.

Moreover, the Prince hosted a dinner in honor of his guest the delegation at Kingdom Resort in Riyadh. The Vice President thanked the Prince for his hospitality and wished him the best on his future endeavors.

The Prince’s investments in Ghana though KHC is in the hotel sector via Movenpick Ambassador hotel in Accra that is currently under construction and in the financial sector through Citigroup.

During HRH’s visit to Ghana in 2006, HRH placed the cornerstone of the Movenpick Ambassador hotel. The hotel is considered a National and historic landmark and in 2005, HRH had signed the Ambassador Hotel deal. The project required more than $100 million to re-develop its infrastructure and create a multi-use hotel project with retail, residential, and leisure facilities in the heart of the capital. During the same trip, His Highness was awarded the highest honorary medal in the country, “Companion of the Order of the Volta” in an official ceremony of investiture attended by prominent state dignitaries. In 2005, HRH inaugurated The Prince Alwaleed bin Talal School and The Prince Alwaleed bin Talal Model Health Center. In 2004, HRH was given an honorary doctorate degree by the University of Developmental Studies from the city of Tamali in Ghana. The degree was rewarded to Prince Alwaleed for his exceptional accomplishments in management and his insight that made him a renowned global investor and furthermore for his philanthropic role and continuous support for those in need all around the world. In 2003 the Prince was awarded, by the King of Ashanti tribe with the diploma, with the rank of “Citizen of Honor of the Kingdom of Ashanti”.

In 2007, a $250,000 donation was made to the Natural Disaster Relief Fund to provide relief from the destruction caused by the floods in 2007. In 2003, HRH pledged during that visit $300,000 to support state sponsored children education programs, $100,000 towards children’s preschool programs (Early Child Center), and $600,000 to the Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research towards a clinical research facility for AIDS, malaria, and malnutrition, for a total of $1 million. In that same year, Prince Alwaleed had also sponsored the pilgrimage of 150 Ghanaian citizens which was estimated to cost over one million Saudi Riyals.