سرمد ذوق

Zok

رئيس مجلس الإدارة والرئيس التنفيذي

المملكة للاستثمارات الفندقية

“ليس هناك سر لنجاحنا، فعوائد استثماراتنا الممتازة وطويلة الأمد تتحقق من خلال الاستفادة من مزايا تنافسية فريدة من نوعها في حين نتبنى استراتيجيات لتخصيص رؤوس الأموال عبر محفظة متنوعة من شركات الإدارة والممتلكات الفندقية ومشاريع متعددة الاستخدامات”.

يشغل السيد الذوق منصب رئيس مجلس الإدارة والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة المملكة للاستثمارات الفندقية (KHI)، الرائدة في مجال تملك و تنمية الفنادق والمنتجعات الدولية، والتي ينصب تركيزها على النمو الكبير في الأسواق الناشئة. وتمتلك الشركة حصصاً في 18 منشأة في 13 بلداً. أسس السيد زوك المملكة للاستثمارات الفندقية في عام 2001 وقاد الاكتتاب العام الأولي في الشركة بقيمة 1.6 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2006. وفي يونيو 2010 تم الاستحواذ على المملكة للاستثمارات الفندقية وتحولت شركة خاصة وهي الآن مملوكة بالكامل من قبل شركة المملكة القابضة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يشغل الذوق منصب عضو مجلس إدارة شركة المملكة القابضة وعضو لجنة الاستثمار في الشركة حيث يضطلع بمسؤولية محفظة شركة المملكة القابضة في قطاع الفنادق العالمية. ويشمل ذلك مصالح في شركات إدارة الفنادق مثل فور سيزونز ومنتجعات فيرمونت رافلز للفنادق وموفنبيك للفنادق والمنتجعات، فضلا عن العقارات الدولية مثل جورج الخامس في باريس، وسافوي في لندن وبلازا في نيويورك. السيد زوك عضو أيضاً في مجلس إدارة فنادق ومنتجعات فور سيزونز، فيرمونت رافلز للفنادق وموفنبيك للفنادق والمنتجعات، كما يشغل منصب مدير غير تنفيذي في مجلس إدارة شركة بلاك روك فرونتيرز ترست للاستثمارات.

في السابق، شغل السيد الذوق منصب رئيس Forte PLC للتنمية في الأسواق الناشئة، وعمل كذلك في HVS الدولية لاستشارات الفنادق والتقييم، والتي تغطي الأسواق الأوروبية. وقبل ذلك حصل السيد الذوق على الخبرة التشغيلية مع هيلتون انترناشونال.

والسيد الذوق حاصل على بكالوريوس العلوم في إدارة الفنادق من جامعة سري وعلى درجة الماجستير في تثمين العقارات والقانون من كلية الأعمال في جامعة سيتي في لندن. وهو يجيد الانجليزية والفرنسية والعربية.

لمحة شخصية

ما هي الإنجازات المحددة من حيث المشاريع والاستثمارات وعمليات الاستحواذ والدمج ، والجوائز أو أشياء أخرى جديرة بالذكر التي كنت قد شاركت فيها أو كنت مسؤولاً عنها؟

لقد كنت جزءا من فريق المملكة للاستثمارات الفندقية الذي اتخذ قاعدة صغيرة وحولها أولًا إلى شركة للأسهم الخاصة، ومن ثم لشركة عالمية، مدرجة للتداول العام. وشمل ذلك التعاقد مع فريق من الدرجة الأولى، ورفع رأس المال وإدراج أسهمها في بورصتين وتصميم وتنفيذ عمليات الأعمال والأنظمة في عدد من الوظائف والمناطق الجغرافية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، كانت المملكة للاستثمارات الفندقية مسؤولة عن تطوير وتشييد وتخطيط أكثر مما قيمته 3 مليارات دولار من العقارات الفندقية الحقيقية في الأسواق الناشئة والعالمية ولاقتناء الأصول التشغيلية القائمة.

كما أن الاستحواذ على الشركة وتحويلها لشركة خاصة في يونيو 2010 كان إنجازاً يستحق الذكر، فقد تم إدماج المملكة للاستثمارات الفندقية بسلاسة ضمن استثمارات الضيافة لشركة المملكة القابضة منذ ذلك التاريخ. وقد حولت هذه الأصول إلى منصة عالمية بمشاريع قيمتها أكثر من 13 مليار دولار أمريكي، والتي تمتد عبر ثلاثة أنشطة: أصول عالية النمو في الأسواق الناشئة، والأصول السوقية المطورة، ومصالح الملكية في ثلاث شركات عالمية للإدارة.

ما الأمور المثيرة التي تعملون عليها حاليا؟

أنشط الآن في تنقيد إرث الاستثمارات التي تحققت في الأسواق الناشئة، وإعادة تدوير رأس المال لتطوير فرص جديدة.
إنني أواصل دمج الشركات التي استحوذنا عليها في الأسواق المتقدمة وشركة المملكة القابضة تجني فوائد حجم التكامل بين جميع الشركات.

ماذا عن الرجل وراء رجل الأعمال؟

متزوج ولدي ثلاثة أطفال وأعيش في دبي.

ماذا تود ان تفعل عندما لا تكون مشغولا بالعمل؟

أنا أستمتع بجميع الألعاب الرياضية، لا سيما ركوب الأمواج بالأشرعة وركوب الدراجات و ركوب الأمواج بالتجديف.

Home / About Us / Board of Directors / Sarmad Zok

Sarmad Zok

Zok

Chairman & CEO

Kingdom Hotels Investments

“There is no secret to our success – our outstanding, long term investment returns are achieved by leveraging our unique competitive advantages whilst adopting capital allocation strategies across a diverse portfolio of management companies, hotel properties and mixed use developments.”

Mr. Zok is Chairman of and Chief Executive Officer of Kingdom Hotel Investments (KHI), the leading international hotel and resort acquisition and development company focused on high growth emerging markets. The Company has ownership interests in 18 properties in 13 countries. Mr. Zok founded KHI in 2001 and led the company’s US$1.6bn Initial Public Offering in 2006.   In June 2010 KHI was taken private and is now wholly owned by KHC.

Additionally, Mr. Zok is a Board Director of Kingdom Holding Company (KHC) and a member of the company’s Investment Committee where he is responsible for KHC’s global hotel portfolio. This includes interests in management companies such as Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts, Fairmont Raffles Hotels International and Mövenpick Hotels and Resorts AG, as well as international real estate such as the George V hotel in Paris, the Savoy in London and the Plaza in New York. Mr. Zok is also a member of the Board of Directors of Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts, Fairmont Raffles Hotels, and Mövenpick Hotels and Resorts AG and holds a non-Executive Directorship on the Board of BlackRock Frontiers Investment Trust PLC.

Previously, Mr. Zok headed Forte PLC’s development effort in emerging markets and worked at HVS International, a leading hotel consulting and valuation firm, covering European markets. Prior to this Mr. Zok gained operational experience with Hilton International.

Mr. Zok holds a Bachelor of Science in Hotel Management from the University of Surrey and a Masters of Arts in Property Valuation and Law from City University Business School in London. He is fluent in English, French and Arabic. 

Director Insight

What specific achievements in terms of projects, investments, acquisitions, mergers, awards or other noteworthy things have you have been involved with or are responsible for?

I have been a part of the KHI team ever since we had taken a small base and transformed it first into a private equity business and then a global, publically listed company.  This involved hiring a first class team, raising capital and listing on two stock exchanges as well as designing and implementing business processes and systems across a number of functions and geographies. Additionally, KHI has been responsible for the construction, development and planning of more than USD 3bn worth of hotel real estate in emerging markets and the acquisition of global existing operating assets.

The company’s take-private in June 2010 was a noteworthy achievement, and KHI has been smoothly integrated within KHC’s hospitality platform since that date.  This has transformed assets into a global platform with more than USD 13bn enterprise value, spanning across 3 businesses: high growth emerging market assets, developed market assets and ownership interests in 3 global management companies.

What exciting things are you working on right now?

I am active in monetizing legacy investments that have been made in the emerging markets and recycling capital opportunistically.

I am continuing to integrate the businesses that we have taken over in developed markets and KHC is reaping the scale benefits of the integration of all businesses.

What about the man behind the businessman?

I’m married with three children and live in Dubai. 

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

I enjoy all sports; particularly kite surfing, cycling and stand-up paddle boarding.